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What's the Score?
You may be aware that in a basketball game the assistant coaches keep an almost unending list of personal statistics for each player. Rebounds, assists, points, minutes played, etc. Why is that? Because they know that these individual statistics all add up to the bottom line. The final score. If they can achieve even a small incremental improvement in these individual statistics for each player this will have a compound affect on the final score. And of course, it helps them know which players to give the most playing time too. In marketing your business you should be just as disciplined. Which products and which ads and which media should you give the most playing time? Do you know? What's the point of designing and implementing an advertising campaign if you don't know if it worked or if it was better than the last one? What a waste. How do you know where the best place is to spend your advertising dollars? By tracking everything. Incoming calls, emails, walk-ins, website visitors, etc. Train yourself and your staff to always ask these questions. Where did they come from? How did they hear about you? Which ad did they call on? Here is an example: Let's say you place a classified ad in the newspaper at a cost of $135.00 offering a free report on your product. You could track the incoming calls in many ways (for instance by directing them to a free recorded message with a unique extension number or simply by asking them where they heard about the offer when they call). Let's say you receive 12 calls on this ad and 2 of them end up as completed sales. What is your cost per prospect? (Cost of Ad) / (Number of Calls) = Cost Per Prospect $135.00 / 12 = $11.25 Your cost per prospect is $11.25
(Number of Sold Clients) / (Number of Prospects) = Conversion Rate 2 / 12 = .17 (or 17%) Your conversion rate of prospects to sold clients is 17%
(Cost of Ad) / (Number of Sold Clients) = Cost Per Sale $135.00 / 2 = $67.50 Your marketing cost per sale is $67.50.
Which ad is performing better? What is your cost per prospect for this ad? (Cost of Ad) / (Number of Calls) = Cost Per Prospect $450.00 / 27 = $16.67 Your cost per prospect is $16.67
(Number of Sold Clients) / (Number of Prospects) = Conversion Rate 4 / 27 = .15 (or 15%) Your conversion rate of prospects to sold clients is 15%
(Cost of Ad ) / (Number of Sold Clients) = Cost Per Sale $450.00 / 4 = $112.50 Your marketing cost per sale is $112.50. Depending on your products and profit margin both of these ads may be performing well enough to merit continuation. However, based on this information we would want to look for other opportunities to expand our use of the classified ad first. This may seem a little basic but this information is extremely valuable and often overlooked. The outcome of most athletic contests is normally decided by a very small margin, sometimes by as little as tenths of an inch or hundredths of a second, missing that pass completion by half a step or missing one basket. One would suspect that most winners and losers in business are also determined by very small margins. Not giving that extra little bit of caring and customer service. Not having your presentation skills honed, not including testimonials with your sales information. Not having the most effective headline in your ad or not having a headline at all. And worst of all, not knowing which ads are working and which should be put on the bench. "If at first you don't succeed, try, try again. Then quit. There's no use being a damn fool about it." - W.C. Fields Shawn Meldrum has spent the last two decades marketing everything from almonds to landscape lighting. He currently specializes in marketing for mortgage brokers, loan officers and real estate agents. For free mortgage marketing articles and much more visit: http://www.MortgageMarketingTips.com/
Latest News:Site: Yahoo! News Search Results for news [News] 5 O'Clock Shadow News you can't leave work without: Asamoah makes a deal News of record News of record reports for Chelan and Douglas counties Newport News police seek help on thefts from cars NEWPORT NEWS A rash of summer-night car break-ins and vandalism has police asking the public for help, and warning them to lock their vehicles. Newport News hit with rash of car break-ins NEWPORT NEWS -- Police are asking for help in solving a large number of car break-ins and vandalism cases in Newport News. According to police, 134 cases were reported in the area between J. Clyde Morris Blvd. and Oyster Point Road since June 1. Most of the incidents were between J. Clyde Morris and Middle Ground Blvd. and happened during the early evening hours. Police say many thefts happened ... NEWS ALERTS: Sign up to get breaking news on your mobile phone Get breaking local news as it happens. Enter your phone number: Standard Messaging Rates or other charges apply. To Opt-out text STOP to 4INFO (44636). For more information text HELP to 4INFO (44636). Contact your carrier for more details. Powered by 4INFO. Newport News police search for suspects in string of car thefts Newport News detectives are seeking assistance from the Community, in solving a large number of cases involving damage to, and larcenies from, cars. Newport News police seek information regarding larcenies and property damage NEWPORT NEWS -- Police are investigating 134 cases of damage to cars and larcenies from cars that occurred between June 1 and July 25, according to police. News in brief Here are a selection of brief news items from this week?s paper edition, and possibly a few news briefs that didn?t make it in the paper. Newport News townhouse damaged by fire NEWPORT NEWS A townhouse in the 1000 block of Willow Green Drive was damaged by fire this morning, fire officials said. One of the residents had minor burns to his hand, a Fire Department news release says. An off-duty city firefighter/medic helped evacuate the adjoining homes. News of the Past who has deep genealogical roots to Winston County, provides news from past editions of the Winston County Journal. The Winston County Board of Supervisors posted a notice of the new "Dog Law" which was passed in the July term. Site: news - Google News Arizona News Round Up - San Francisco Chronicle (blog)
MORE RESOURCES: Site: Yahoo! News Search Results for advertising Advertising at the Colosseum? The Italian government is offering advertising rights at the Roman Colosseum in exchange for money for restoration work at the iconic site... U.S. TV advertising trends remain strong TV advertising trends remain so strong in the U.S. that Barclays Capital on Thursday raised its 2010 TV forecasts despite modestly lowering total ad spending estimates. Advertising and the Big Society-'happy bedfellows' ePolitix.com speaks to Ian Barber, director of communications at the Advertising Association , about the big society and the economic downturn. Advertising uplift helps BSkyB's profit rise 10% Pay-TV broadcaster BSkyB's operating profit was up 10% year on year in the 12 months to the end of June, bolstered by an uplift in advertising, according to results out today. As Mobile Advertising Heats Up, Millennial Media Prepares For An IPO In 2011 Mobile advertising is currently a billion dollar market and we've witnessed tech giants like Google and Apple move into the space with the acquisitions of mobile ad networks AdMob and Quattro Wireless, respectively. AdMob is now part of Google's mobile advertising business and Apple is using Quattro to power its new ad format, iAds. But there is another player that has silently been growing its ... Flex-National Radio Advertising Service Launched by Wholesale TV & Radio Advertising ? Dallas, TX Wholesale TV and Radio Advertising in Dallas, Texas, announces that they have launched a new service called Flex-National Radio Advertising. ADVERTISING INFO Prices quoted are for display ads only Each page is divided into 30 blocks The price is determined by the number of blocks the ad occupies. For example: MDG Advertising Selected as Communications Agency of Record for Vita New York NEW YORK----Vita New York handcrafted jewelry, anchored in Manhattan?s Soho neighborhood, has selected MDG Advertising to handle their public communications. Smaato Mobile Advertising Award: VC Partners and Nominees Shortlist 2010 Announced REDWOOD SHORES, Calif.----Smaato Inc., the leading mobile ad optimizer and mobile advertising company, is delighted to announce the VC partners and first set of nominees for the Smaato Mobile Advertising Award 2010. Mediaset 2Q Profit Up On Advertising Spending Growth Mediaset 2Q Profit Up On Advertising Spending Growth Site: advertising - Google News Mediaset First-Half Profit Rises 34% on Increased Advertising - BusinessWeek
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